Our People 2020–2021

Edie Wilson, Editor-in-Chief

Elizabeth Danesi Wilson (Edie) is a second-year Master of Arts candidate at the Johns Hopkins School of Advanced International Studies (SAIS), concentrating in International Development and International Economics. Prior to attending SAIS, Edie lived in Sukhothai, Thailand, Brooklyn, New York, and Beijing, China. Her work has spanned international education, migration, and writing. In Thailand, she completed a Fulbright grant and reported on a variety of topics, ranging from effective collaborations across local and international organizations to combat human trafficking to the 2017 World Latte Art Competition Champion and his growing coffee shop business, Ristr8to. Edie completed her undergraduate education at Hamilton College, where she concentrated in Anthropology and minored in Economics and Government. She wrote her senior thesis on international students in the US higher education system and graduated with departmental honors.

Will Marshall, Senior Editor

Will Marshall is a second-year Master of Arts candidate at Johns Hopkins SAIS, concentrating in International Political Economy and European and Eurasian Studies. During his first year at SAIS Europe in Bologna, Italy, Will served as an editor of the SAIS Europe Journal of Global Affairs and as a contributor to The SAIS Observer. Prior to SAIS, Will worked in public affairs at the communications firm, BCW Global, in Washington DC. He has also served in various research and communications roles at think tanks, including the DC-based Progressive Policy Institute, Carnegie Europe and the SAIS-affiliated Bologna Institute for Policy Research. A dual American and French citizen, Will graduated from the University of Virginia in 2015 with a BA in Foreign Affairs and French (minor).

Erin Thomas, Managing Editor

Erin Thomas is a second-year Master of Arts candidate, concentrating in Middle East Studies. A Georgia native, Erin graduated from the University of Georgia with a degree in History and a minor in Arabic. Her previous experience includes a stint working with the National Security and International Policy team at the Center for American Progress. Currently, her academic pursuits focus on social movements in the Middle East and she hopes to pursue further study in that area.

Jacob LaRochelle, Media Editor

Jacob LaRochelle is a second-year Master of Arts candidate, concentrating in Strategic Studies with a minor in Latin American Studies. Jacob originally hails from Florida and graduated from Johns Hopkins University with majors in Political Science & International Studies with minors in Latin American Studies and Entrepreneurship & Management. Jacob’s previous experience includes serving as the Treasurer of the SAIS Student Government Association and Secretary-General of the Johns Hopkins University Model United Nations Conference (JHUMUNC). In his free time, Jacob volunteers as an EMT. Currently, his academic interests lie in health security.

Ester Fang, Podcast Editor

Ester Fang is a second-year Master of Arts candidate, concentrating in Middle East Studies with a minor in Conflict Management. Before starting SAIS, Ester was a Princeton in Asia Fellow at ChildFund Cambodia in Phnom Penh, Cambodia. Her work focused on program and grant writing as well as monitoring and evaluation for issues related to child education, protection, and disaster risk reduction. Ester completed her undergraduate education in Political Science with an Arabic Studies minor at the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign. Her current academic interests involve the role of narrative building in post-conflict peace building. She looks forward to exploring this interest through her work as Podcast Editor.

Advisory Board

Eliot Cohen – Chairperson
Dean of the Paul H. Nitze School of Advanced International Studies (SAIS) of the Johns Hopkins University

Carla Freeman – Faculty Advisor
Executive Director, Foreign Policy Institute; Associate Research Professor and Associate Director, SAIS China Studies Program

Bill Clifford
President and CEO, World Affairs Councils of America

Mara Karlin
Associate Director, Strategic Studies Program; Executive Director, Philip Merrill Center for Strategic Studies

Thomas Keaney
Senior Fellow, Philip Merrill Center for Strategic Studies; Senior Adjunct Professor, SAIS Strategic Studies Program

Peter Lewis
Vice Dean, SAIS; Associate Professor and Director, SAIS African Studies Program

James Mann
Fellow, Foreign Policy Institute and Scholar-in-Residence, Europe and Eurasia Studies

Afshin Molavi
Senior Fellow, Foreign Policy Institute and Director, emerge85 lab

Moisés Naím
Distinguished Fellow, Carnegie Endowment for International Peace

Bruce Parrott
Professor, Russian and Eurasian Studies at SAIS

Jeffrey Pryce
Fellow, Foreign Policy Institute and Vice Chair, International Arbitration, Steptoe & Johnson LLP

Thomas Rid
Professor, Strategic Studies at SAIS

Neil Shenai
Senior Advisor to the Under Secretary for International Affairs, U.S. Department of Treasury

Previous Editorial Boards

2019-2020: Michael Rosengard, Editor-in-Chief; Simon Tran Hudes, Senior Editor; Jonathan Wilkinson, Managing Editor; Jonathon Sine, Web Editor; Nainika Paul, Media Editor

2018-2019: Michael Sutherland, Editor-in-Chief; Byeong-Jin Jeong, Senior Editor; Devan Kerley, Managing Editor; Cory Combs, Web Editor; Julian Strachan, Director of Branding

2017-2018: Nicholas Childress, Editor-in-Chief; Lindsay Steves, Senior Editor; Kathryn Olson, Managing Editor; Sarah Hutson, Web Editor; Kyle Schut, Director of Publicity

2016-2017: Michael Cass-Antony, Editor-in-Chief; Tyler Kellermann, Senior Editor; Allison M. Feikes, Managing Editor; Emmett Potts, Web Editor and Publicity Director; Kate Raley, Director of Branding

2015-2016: Jessica Sobrino, Editor-in-Chief; Patrick G. Rear, Senior Editor; Shuja A. Malik, Managing Editor; Brittany E. Coley, Web Editor and Publicity Director

2014-2015: Christine Croft, Editor-in-Chief; Diane French, Senior Editor; Bart Thanhauser, Managing Editor; Sandra Zuniga Guzman, Web Editor

2013-2014: Meghan Kleinsteiber, Editor-in-Chief; Lauren Caldwell, Senior Editor; Selena An, Managing Editor; Rachel Ostrow, Web Editor