Our People

Ava Shen, Editor-in-Chief

Ao (Ava) Shen is a second-year Master of Arts candidate concentrating in China Studies. Her research interests include Chinese foreign policy in Asia, cross-strait relations, and US-China relations. She has interned at the Stimson Center’s China Program. Previously, she served as the Editor-In-Chief of The SAIS China Studies Review. Ava graduated with honors from Boston University with majors in international relations and French studies. She wrote her senior thesis on history education reform in Taiwan. She was born and raised in Zhengzhou, China.

Harry Cahoone, Senior Editor

Harrison (Harry) Cahoone is a second-year Master of Arts candidate, concentrating in General International Relations. During his first year at SAIS, he served as an Assistant Editor for The SAIS Review. Originally from Massachusetts, Harry graduated from the College of the Holy Cross, where he studied Political Science and Philosophy, with a concentration in Peace and Conflict Studies, and completed a senior thesis on renewable energy policy and energy politics. Before coming to SAIS, he worked for several years at the investment firm Weiss Asset Management. His research interests are currently focused on energy and global development.

Cody Retherford, Managing Editor

Cody Retherford is a second-year Master of Arts candidate, concentrating in International Relations and International Economics. During his first year, Cody served as an assistant editor of The SAIS Review. Prior to SAIS, Cody served in the US Army where he deployed to Afghanistan in support of Operation Resolute Support and worked missions across the wider Middle East. Outside of SAIS, he currently works as a research fellow at the American Foreign Policy Council writing on emerging technology and national security issues. Cody completed his undergraduate degree in International Affairs and commissioned into the US Army from the University of North Georgia.

Jenny Lee, Media Editor

Jennifer (Jenny) Lee is a second-year Masters of Arts candidate concentrating in China Studies with a minor in Energy, Resources, and Environment. Prior to SAIS, she worked as a Research Assistant at the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health. Jenny served as an Assistant Editor for The SAIS Review during her first year at SAIS. This summer she interned with the Energy Security and Climate Change program at the Council on Foreign Relations. She received a James and Margaret Loe Fellowship for her final year of academic studies. Her research interests include the intersection of environmental and health policy with US-China relations and Chinese policy.

Jen Roberts, Podcast Editor

Jennifer (Jen) Roberts is a second-year Master of Arts candidate, concentrating in Strategic Studies. She completed her undergraduate education at American University, earning a Bachelor of Arts in International Studies. Jen has since published her senior thesis entitled “License to Chill: James Bond and Détente in Film,” which explores the influence of foreign policy in popular culture. Her current academic interests involve disinformation and emerging cybersecurity threats. She looks forward to exploring these interests through her work as the Podcast Editor.

Advisory Board

Kent Calder – Chairperson
Interim Dean of the Paul H. Nitze School of Advanced International Studies (SAIS), Johns Hopkins University; Director of the Edwin O. Reischauer Center for East Asian Studies

Cinnamon Dornsife – Faculty Advisor
Director, Foreign Policy Institute; Senior Advisor to the Dean, SAIS

Bill Clifford
President and CEO, World Affairs Councils of America

Jessica Fanzo
Interim Vice Dean, SAIS; Bloomberg Distinguished Professor of Global Food Policy and Ethics, JHSPH; Director, Global Food Ethics and Policy Program; Editor-in-Chief, Global Food Security; Associate Editor, American Journal of Clinical Nutrition

Carla Freeman
Senior Expert, China, United States Institute of Peace; Senior Fellow, Foreign Policy Institute

Thomas Keaney
Senior Fellow, Philip Merrill Center for Strategic Studies; Senior Adjunct Professor, SAIS Strategic Studies Program

Peter Lewis
Vice Dean, SAIS; Associate Professor and Director, SAIS African Studies Program

Thomas Mahnken
Senior Research Professor and Co-Director, MASIS Program, Philip Merrill Center for Strategic Studies, SAIS; President, Center for Strategic and Budgetary Assessments

James Mann
Fellow, Foreign Policy Institute and Scholar-in-Residence, Europe and Eurasia Studies

Manjari Chatterjee Miller
Senior Fellow for India, Pakistan, and South Asia, Council on Foreign Relations; Associate Professor of International Relations, Boston University; Research Associate, Contemporary South Asian Studies Program, Oxford School of Global and Area Studies

Afshin Molavi
Senior Fellow, Foreign Policy Institute and Director, emerge85 lab

Moisés Naím
Distinguished Fellow, Carnegie Endowment for International Peace

Obiora Okafor
Edward B. Burling Chair in International Law at SAIS; Independent Expert on Human Rights and International Solidarity, United Nations

Bruce Parrott
Professor, Russian and Eurasian Studies at SAIS

Jeffrey Pryce
Fellow, Foreign Policy Institute and Vice Chair, International Arbitration, Steptoe & Johnson LLP

Thomas Rid
Professor, Strategic Studies at SAIS

Neil Shenai
Senior Advisor to the Under Secretary for International Affairs, U.S. Department of Treasury

Previous Editorial Boards

2020–2021: Edie Wilson, Editor-in-Chief; Will Marshall, Senior Editor; Erin Thomas, Managing Editor; Jacob LaRochelle, Media Editor; Ester Fang, Podcast Editor

2019–2020: Michael Rosengard, Editor-in-Chief; Simon Tran Hudes, Senior Editor; Jonathan Wilkinson, Managing Editor; Jonathon Sine, Web Editor; Nainika Paul, Media Editor

2018–2019: Michael Sutherland, Editor-in-Chief; Byeong-Jin Jeong, Senior Editor; Devan Kerley, Managing Editor; Cory Combs, Web Editor; Julian Strachan, Director of Branding

2017–2018: Nicholas Childress, Editor-in-Chief; Lindsay Steves, Senior Editor; Kathryn Olson, Managing Editor; Sarah Hutson, Web Editor; Kyle Schut, Director of Publicity

2016–2017: Michael Cass-Antony, Editor-in-Chief; Tyler Kellermann, Senior Editor; Allison M. Feikes, Managing Editor; Emmett Potts, Web Editor and Publicity Director; Kate Raley, Director of Branding

2015–2016: Jessica Sobrino, Editor-in-Chief; Patrick G. Rear, Senior Editor; Shuja A. Malik, Managing Editor; Brittany E. Coley, Web Editor and Publicity Director

2014–2015: Christine Croft, Editor-in-Chief; Diane French, Senior Editor; Bart Thanhauser, Managing Editor; Sandra Zuniga Guzman, Web Editor

2013–2014: Meghan Kleinsteiber, Editor-in-Chief; Lauren Caldwell, Senior Editor; Selena An, Managing Editor; Rachel Ostrow, Web Editor